A sense of humor

I have always been told that God has a sense of humor. I firmly believe that he does and this past weekend proved it. For my internship we are having 5 weeks of a program called Rolling Stories where we are sharing stories from the Bible and how they never stop. I am super excited about this event and cannot wait to meet all of the kids. When we were planning for the event I already had in my mind what I wanted it to look like, how many kids I wanted there. More importantly I really wanted to make everyone happy and show that I can do a good job. Or as some people would call it…people pleasing.

I have my moments where I try to please people and then I have those moments that it is the last thing on my mind. But specificially for this event I wanted to please everybody. On Sunday night we had a gathering called Leadership Community where all of the leaders in the church gather. We were learning about growing our relationships with God and one of the questions in our small group was about people pleasing rather than pleasing God. I didn’t really think anything of it. This morning I open my devotional and it is on building relationships with people and showing hospitality. This devotional specifically talked about not to worry about pleasing people.

So tonight was our first day at the park and I was thinking that I really wanted to do a good job and I wanted so many kids to come. Then the Pastor I was with was telling us that it does not matter if we do not have kids tonight what matters is that we are here doing what God has told us to do. “I see what you did there God”. At that moment we prayed for just two kids that needed to hear about God. Not even 15 minutes pass and out of nowhere two kids show up. We played games with them had a snack and invited them to listen to a story. What mattered though was after we finished the story and they told everyone the story that was with us.

You could say that God had placed God serving on my heart this weekend. I am always wanting to do a good job and show that I am capable of completing anything. Those little moments that led up to tonight just showed that that is the last thing that needs to be on my mind. What matters is building those relationships and making sure that we are doing what God wants us to be doing.

Leave a Reply

