Revival has come…

So it is has been awhile since my last post and a lot has happened…so to catch you up to speed here is the short version…I arrived back in Illinois from Oregon and have started my Senior year at Olivet Nazarene University…wait I am a Senior?? Anyway, I have started my third year at the best job ever as the Spiritual Life Administrative Assistant, I have an internship that is an amazing experience, and I think that might be it.

Now to actually start the post…

This past week we had revival. Revival at school is a huge thing. There is an extra chapel service, evening services, and everything at night is cancelled so people can go to the services. It is what everyone talks about. This week was not out of the ordinary. I was not sure what to expect at the services this year. I went in to it with an open mind and open heart but it wasn’t the messages that got my attention.

Wait…did you catch that?? The message didn’t get my attention. The message actually did get my attention and really made me think. But what really got my attention is something that most people would not notice. That little thing happened at the end of every service. People would go to the alter to pray…but more specifically what happened after that. The people that followed them is what got my attention. The people? Yes, the people! That sense of community was all around me. Every single person that went down to pray had someone praying over them. I wonder if they knew each other, if they were roommates, or maybe classmates? Or maybe they didn’t know each other at all. That is the beauty behind community. There were times when I would start tearing up because people just kept coming to pray over people. There were points in the service where 10 people were praying over 1 person. Friends, that is so powerful!!

I think that is what I am going to miss the most…about Olivet. I am going to miss the community and knowing that someone is always there for you whenever you need them. That has helped me learn the importance of finding that community that will be there for me after I graduate. Just one of the many little things that I have and will continue to treasure about Olivet.

 

Leave a Reply

